Thinking and writing about food. Not always in that order.

You say Apulia, I say Puglia.

In Uncategorized on September 28, 2012 at 10:19 am

So earlier this week I was pretty sure I needed to go back to Emilia Romagna ASAP. Maybe I really need to go to Puglia ASAP.

The Garum Factory

Matera, Unesco World Heritage site in Basilicata.  Click on image for larger view.

Jody is still in Europe, hobnobbing with her fellow wizards, while I’m back home, working on my fourth espresso of the morning since my circadian clock stubbornly refuses to acknowledge that I’m no longer in the Mezzogiorno, the land that W. H. Auden aptly dubbed the sunburnt otherwhere.  I thought I’d post a few pictures of our trip (Wait!  Come back!) and offer a few observations about Puglia, food and biking.  The photos appear with a higher than usual resolution, so if you click on them you’ll be taken to a much larger version, which you can magnify even more, a helpful option if you want to see the panorama of Matera above, for example.

These are olive trees.  One-thousand y. o. olive trees, and still producing olives!  Having travelled in France and Italy…

View original post 930 more words

  1. I’m fine with both.

  2. Puglia, hands down. 🙂 ken

  3. Oh, sorry, [insert poor manners alert here], thank you for the reblog. ken

Leave a Reply

