Thinking and writing about food. Not always in that order.

A Visually Delectable Graduating Project: Modernizing Food Still Life Paintings into Photographs

In Uncategorized on July 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm

A very fun and interesting final project by Meg Jones Wall, one of the my fellow Boston University gastronauts.

by Meg Jones Wall

When it came time for me to start considering my final project for the Gastronomy program, I admit that I was completely overwhelmed. I knew that I wanted to use my photography skills and my interest in food styling to create some kind of visual project. It took several months of stressing, and a lot of help from my peers and advisors, but eventually I worked it out — I would research historic food still life paintings, then turn them into modern photographs. Having little experience with art history and still learning a lot about photography and food styling, I was pretty intimidated with my project. However, the delight of being able to play with food, figure out how to recreate these stunning (and extremely specific) props, and learning to manipulate my images in the proper way was too tempting to pass up.

The ultimate purpose…

View original post 433 more words

Leave a Reply

