Thinking and writing about food. Not always in that order.

Food Fight!!!

In Food Asshole, Foodie, Things I like, Uncategorized on May 16, 2012 at 10:42 am

Having just discovered the “Chains” discussion on Chowhound, I may never do anything again but sit here and read. For those who are unfamiliar, Chowhound is Facebook for Food Assholes. It’s the kind of place where 275 people can comment about how the quality of the $365 pre fixe dinner at Next in Chicago is better on Tuesdays than Fridays.

The Chowhound “Chains” message board is where Food Assholes go to snipe at one another about McDonald’s, Olive Garden, and Chipotle. It’s like watching the Real Housewives of Chowhound beat each other senseless with a Double Down. And by that, I mean it is pure genius.

Here are some current controversies being explored:

“Anything good at Outback?” Newsflash: No.

“Chains that cold brew their iced coffee?” Newsflash: McDonald’s doesn’t and they should be shot.

“Why do foodies like the McD’s Filet o’ Fish?” Newsflash: They don’t and they hate you for asking.

Here’s my favorite exchange:

“Uh, the Filet-O-Fish is sold by McDonald’s. (Assuming you mean “McDonald’s” when you use the epithet “mickey d’s, which you surely must since you use this epithet in exactly that way in your own post here on this thread.

I have no idea what that means, but I can’t get enough.

If you wonder why Costco rotisserie chickens are so good, you should clear your calendar and go here.

  1. You had me at “For those who are unfamiliar, Chowhound is Facebook for Food Assholes.”

    Thank you so much for this post. I followed your link and was immediately swept up in the drama of the bickering between posters with such fascinating topics as “The secret – Outstanding at Applebees” and “Red Robin v. Johnny Rockets at Annapolis Mall”. The Filet O’ Fish debate was pure comedy GOLD.

    Not wanting to limit myself to voyeurism, I couldn’t sign up for Chowhound fast enough. Any place where I can dispute who has the best onion blossom is a place I want to be. It’s like Honey Boo Boo for the taste buds.

    This is what the Internetz am all about.

  2. As much fun as it has been to participate in such meaningful dialogues as “Red Lobster – Still Sucks” and “Did Cheesecake Factory Change It’s French Toast?”, it has been equally if not more enjoyable to come up with alternate IDs and fan the bickering flames over there, particularly when some troll drops his Hot Pocket long enough to try to insult some unsuspecting Hardee’s patron and needs a beatdown.

    The Nazi Mods can ban you pretty quickly, but I can come up with a new Gmail account even faster. Sadly, I can foresee the blocking of my IP address altogether, but oh, while it still lasts, I am SO getting my side of ranch dressing on!

    Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

